Alliance Board Members

Alliance of Women Philanthropists Executive Board

Marilyn Elrod
Manchester, TN

Carol Kirkland
Jackson, TN

Patty Mallicote
Lakemont, GA

Deborah Brown
Snellville, GA

Linda Brown
Brentwood, TN

Kitty Coffey
Morristown, TN

Dawn Gabriele
Apollo Beach, FL

Joan Giltner
Mount Juliet, TN

Debbie Ingram
Ooltewah, TN

Jodie Johnson
Townsend, TN

Tina Melo
Houston, TX

Jane Michel
Owens Cross Roads, AL

Sara Phillips
Knoxville, TN

Margaret Perry
Brentwood, TN

Debby Schriver
Knoxville, TN

Rita Freeman Silen
Portland, OR

Sharon Taylor
Memphis, TN

Lori Warton
Winchester, TN

Our mission is simple

Educate, empower, and inspire women to be philanthropic leaders at the University of Tennessee.

Join the Giving Circle


Melissa Smith
Director of Women’s Programs
(865) 974-7544

1525 University Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37921
(865) 974-2115


The Brenda G. Lawson Legacy of Leadership Award

The Alliance of Women Philanthropists was created to acknowledge the capacity of women to be influential donors to UT and to recognize them in more meaningful and personal ways. The Alliance takes pride in celebrating the remarkable accomplishments of women leaders and their philanthropic efforts, community service, and volunteerism.

The Alliance created the Brenda G. Lawson Legacy of Leadership Award to recognize women who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in these areas. This award is bestowed upon an exceptional woman who embodies the highest level of excellence in her work as a community leader and has devoted considerable time and energy to improve the quality of life for others at UT.

Award Criteria

  • Committed to furthering the goals of the Alliance of Women Philanthropists
  • Supports the University of Tennessee through contributions of talent, time, and financial means
  • Dedicated to supporting UT in its instructional, research, outreach and fundraising initiatives
  • Educates, empowers, and inspires women to be philanthropic leaders at the University of Tennessee
  • Encompasses a variety of ideals including volunteerism, generosity, sacrifice, compassion, sensitivity, and humility


2021: Natalie L. Haslam

A native Knoxvillian, Natalie Haslam graduated from the University of Tennessee with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in 1952. She has been an active volunteer...

2020: Andrea Loughry

Andrea is a dedicated supporter of her alma mater, having served as vice-chair of the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees and as the first...

2019: Anne Holt Blackburn

Anne Holt Blackburn, Nashville’s most veteran TV news anchor, was one of thirteen children born to a family of sharecroppers in West Tennessee. She graduated...

2018: Dr. Margaret Perry

Margaret Perry has always been a trailblazer with the determination to get things done. She was the first female dean for graduate studies at UT...

2017: Ann Furrow

First Lady of Tennessee, Ann Furrow was the pioneer of Lady Vols Golf playing on the men’s team at UT in 1964 and 1965. Not...

2016: Janet McKinley

For more than thirty years, Janet McKinley has been an avid and active supporter of UT academics and athletics.